top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarah Buckner

First Day

I like starting off the semester with a lesson about graffiti/street art. I have found that a lesson like this has multiple benefits.

First, I want to students to understand that the focus of this class isn't so much about technical drawing skills, but instead the focus is learning to think about art and the ways that it impacts our lives. Graffiti is used for a variety of purposes, such as building community, protest, and declaring identity.


Second, I want my students to feel a personal connection to art. Both graffiti and its uses are things that are relevant to my student's lives.


Third, this is very practical. It's a great way for me to learn my student's names and their art can be used to label their portfolios.

Slideshow

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1QEaA0-xkWanKAz7LajN1Pc0AKrvwzdH4NUXlLmgud7k/edit?usp=sharing

bottom of page